喷水嘴
波浪图像

Milpitas 市水表升级项目

为了更好地为用户服务,支持节水工作并降低运营成本,Milpitas市正在对其自来水公司基础设施进行现代化改造。 从2021年3月开始,将在家庭、企业和其他设施中安装新的和改进的水表。

喷水嘴

项目摘要

 

这是一个全市范围的水表现代化项目。Milpitas现有的大多数水表都超出了制造商建议的20年使用寿命。旧的水表需要人工读数,并且可能会变得不准确。本市的新水表表将提高读数准确性,并允许更频繁地进行远程数据收集。此次升级不会给水用户带来任何额外费用。大多数更换水表大约需要30分钟,不需要有人在场。

合作伙伴图标

Milpitas 市已与ENGIE North America(ENGIE)及其分包商Professional Meters Inc.(PMI)合作来完成该项目。

邮件图标

在安装水表之前,自来水用户将收到本市寄来的信件和明信片。这些通知将包括说明和一个电话号码,供您在有疑问时拨打。

水表图标

这是一个强制性的更换项目,但不需要建筑物居民在场。在安装过程中,供水服务会暂时中断。

花样图像-分隔线

常见问题解答

这是什么项目?

这是一个全市范围的水表现代化项目。水表的预期使用寿命约为20年。 Milpitas的绝大多数水表已经达到或超过了这个寿命。本市正在使用新的水表替换旧的水表,新的水表能够全天远程传输使用情况数据。不再处于亲自读取,将节省本工作人员的时间,并且自来水用户可以随时查看最新的使用信息。

这个项目的时间表是什么?

水表安装将于2021年3月开始,预计该项目将于2021年秋季完成。

这该项目对我有什么好处?

该项目使Milpitas自来水用户可以在任何时间(不仅是在账单到期时)即时查看使用情况信息。升级完成后,自来水用户将能够登录一个门户网站,查看使用情况信息,甚至设置泄漏警示。该平台将帮助用户就如何节约用水和节省资金做出明智的决定。

这些水表更准确吗?

传统的水表会随着时间的流逝而磨损,从而可能会产生误差。新的水表称为Recordall盘式水表,它在腔室内有一个盘,该盘在水流过时移动,并使用磁传感器记录流过的水量。这种测量水流量的方法可在仪表的整个使用寿命中保持高水准的精度

这项新技术在传递使用信息方面是如何运作的?

这项新技术统称为高级计量基础架构(AMI),它可以实现自动抄表。集中的“端点”连续监控给定区域中每个本地水表的数据。这些端点以预定的时间间隔将本地水表信息无线传输到本市。

安装工作涉及哪些内容以及谁提供通知?

本市已与ENGIE North America(ENGIE)及其承包商Professional Meters Inc.(PMI)建立了安装新水表的合作关系。自来水用户将按街坊分组,并分配一个月时间更换水表。 PMI将需要达到水表,而水表通常位于物业线附近的地下空穴中。


除非在没有帮助的情况下无法达到水表,否则用户无需在场即可进行更换工作。在安装前,将向用户邮寄通知,告知他们何时开始在附近进行工作。要求用户在安装之前确保水表空穴是可达到的。绝大多数水表的安装大约需要30分钟。在此期间,供水服务将被中断。安装人员将在抵达时提供适当的身份证明。

我需要进行预约吗?

住宅用户无需 进行预约,除非在没有帮助的情况下无法达到水表或有规划用水中断的特殊需求。 选择在市内进行安装的承包商Professional Meters Inc.(PMI)将在水表安装人员到达附近之前邮寄通知。如果需要帮助,此通知将包含一个电话号码。

商业和其他非住宅用户确实 需要进行预约。选择在市内进行安装的承包商Professional Meters Inc.(PMI)将在邮件中发送通知和/或留下带有电话号码的信息挂在门的手把上,供打电话进行预约。在收到此通知之前,无需进行预约。

如果我当前的水表在上锁的门后面或需要规划的水中断怎么办?

如果在没有您协助的情况下无法达到您的水表,或者您特别需要规划中的水中断,请等待收到明信片邮件,通知您在您所在地区开始工作。 收到后,请拨打明信片上提供的电话号码进行预约。

我的水费账单会改变吗?

与达到使用寿命的旧水表相比,新水表的准确性更高。由于新的水表更加准确,用户可能会看到水费的增加。更高的准确性将确保向用户收取适当的水费。

安装新的水表后我需要做什么?我需要采取任何步骤或预防措施吗?

安装新的水表后,水中会短暂含有变色的水、气穴、小颗粒或沉淀物,这是正常现象。 建议在安装后放水冲洗管线。打开浴缸的冷水水龙头或使用室外水龙头。避免从带有曝气器附件的水龙头或可能将沉淀物吸入热水锅炉的热水水龙头放水。安装几天后,请检查新水表是否泄漏。如果您遇到任何问题,请拨打免费电话(855)229-5562与PMI联系。

更换水表需要多少钱?

安装水表不会向用户收费。

我的信息安全吗?

本市根据适当的隐私权政策对用户信息保密。仅传输用水量数据和水表编号。个人用户信息未加载到传输器中,因此不会被传输。

该项目如何与本市的工作重点保持一致?

本市致力于为Milpitas用户提供优质的供水服务。AMI技术将为本市工作人员提供更好的工具来服务用户。此次升级将提供有关用水模式的更复杂的信息,可以在以后的计划中加以利用。这些数据将有助于本市设计和分析与本市将节水成为Milpitas生活方式的目标相一致的节约计划 Making Water Conservation a Milpitas Way of Life.

先进水表的射频(RF)信号有多大影响?

用于本市先进计量基础设施(AMI)的无线发射器使用射频(RF)传输数据。对无线水表RF的接触远低于联邦法规的限制,并且远低于许多常见的家用设备,包括手机、笔记本电脑和无线婴儿监视器。水表每天仅发送四次信号,每次发送持续约一秒钟。 所有设备均按照州和联邦通信标准运行。

公共通知和资源

Schedule icon

Water Meter Install
Address Lookup

给客户的信图标

致用户的信

Postcard Install Notice icon

明信片安装通知

水表规格表图标

水表规格表

联系资料

 

有关更换水表的更多信息,请通过以下方式与 Milpitas 市联系:

电话图标

 

1 (800) 331-4223

电子邮件图标

 

smartcity@ci.milpitas.ca.gov

有关与供水服务有关的其他问题,请访问 Milpitas 市工务部网页.

Water Spout
Waves image

City of Milpitas

Water Meter
Upgrade Project

To better serve customers, support conservation efforts, and reduce operating costs, the City of Milpitas is in the process of modernizing its water utility infrastructure. Beginning in March 2021, new and improved water meters will be installed at homes, businesses, and other facilities.

Water Spout

Project Summary

 

This is a city-wide water meter modernization project. Most existing water meters in Milpitas are beyond the manufacturer’s recommended life span of 20 years. Older meters require manual readings and can become inaccurate. The City’s new meters will improve reading accuracy and allow for more frequent and remote data collection. This upgrade will come at no additional cost to water customers. Most meter replacements take about 30 minutes and do not require building occupants to be present.

Partners icon

The City of Milpitas has partnered with ENGIE North America (ENGIE) and its subcontractor Professional Meters Inc. (PMI) to complete this project.

Mail icon

Water customers will receive a letter and postcard in the mail from the City prior to meter installation. These notices will include instructions and a phone number to call if you have questions.

Water Meter icon

This is a mandatory replacement project but building occupants do not need to be present. Water service will be temporarily interrupted during the installation.

Squiggle image - divider

Frequently Asked Questions

What is this project?

This is a city-wide water meter modernization project. Water meters have an expected useful life of approximately 20 years. Most meters in Milpitas have reached or exceeded this life span. The City is having old meters replaced with new meters capable of transmitting usage data remotely throughout the day. Removing the need to take in-person readings will save City staff time and provide water customers with instant access to up-to-date usage information at any time.

What is the timeline for this project?

Meter installations will begin in March 2021. Expected completion of the project is fall 2021.

What are the benefits of this project to me?

This project will provide Milpitas water customers with instant access to usage information at any time (not just when a bill is due). Once upgrades are complete, water customers will be able to log into a portal to view usage information and even setup leak alerts. This platform will help customers make informed decisions about how to conserve water and save money.

Are these meters more accurate?

Traditional meters wear down over time, creating the potential for inaccuracies. The new meters, called Recordall Disc Meters, have a disc in the chamber that moves as water passes through, and uses magnetic sensors to register the volume of water flowing through. This method for measuring water flow maintains a high level of accuracy throughout the entire life of the meter.

How does the new technology work for transmitting usage information?

The new technology is collectively called Advanced Metering Infrastructure (AMI) and it allows for automated meter readings. Centralized “endpoints” continuously monitor data from each local water meter in a given area. At predetermined intervals, these endpoints wirelessly transmit local meter information to the City.

What will the installation entail and who will provide notice?

The City has partnered with ENGIE North America (ENGIE) and its contractor Professional Meters Inc. (PMI) to install the new meters. Water customers will be grouped by neighborhood and assigned a month in which their meter will be replaced. PMI will need access to water meters, typically located near the property line in a vault.


Customers do not need to be present for work to take place unless a water meter cannot be accessed without assistance. Ahead of installation, customers will be mailed a notice telling them when work will begin in their neighborhood. Customers are asked to make sure the meter vault is accessible prior to installation. Most meter installations take approximately 30 minutes. During this time, water service will be disrupted. Installers will provide proper identification upon arrival

Do I need to schedule an appointment?

Residential customers DO NOT need to schedule an appointment unless a water meter cannot be accessed without assistance or there are special needs for planned water disruption. Professional Meters Inc. (PMI), the contractor selected to perform installations for the City, will mail a notice prior to meter installers arriving in a neighborhood. This notice will contain a number to call if assistance is required.

Commercial and other non-residential customers DO need to schedule an appointment. Professional Meters Inc. (PMI), the contractor selected to perform installations for the City, will send a notice in the mail and/or leave a door hanger with a phone number to call and schedule an appointment. Appointments do not need to be scheduled until this notice is received.

What if my current water meter is behind a locked gate or I require planned water disruption?

If your water meter cannot be accessed without your assistance or you have a special need for planned water disruption, wait to receive your postcard mailer notifying you of work beginning in your area. Once received, call the phone number provided on the postcard to schedule an appointment.

Will my water bill change?

The new water meters will have a higher level of accuracy compared to the old meters that have reached the end of their useful life. Customers may see an increase in their water bill based on the new meter’s higher level of accuracy. Improved accuracy will ensure customers are appropriately charged for water usage.

What should I expect after I receive a new meter? Are there any steps or precautions I need to take?

It is normal after receiving a new meter for your water to briefly contain discolored water, air pockets, small particles, or sediment. Flushing your lines after installation is recommended. Turn on your bathtub’s cold water faucet or use an outside faucet. Avoid flushing from faucets that have aerator attachments or hot water faucets that may draw sediment into your hot water tank. For a few days after installation, please check your new meter for leaks. If you experience any issues please call PMI toll free at (855) 229-5562.

How much will the meter replacement cost me?

There is no additional charge to customers for meter installation.

Will my information be secure?

The City maintains the confidentiality of our customers’ information in accordance with appropriate privacy policies. Only water consumption data and meter numbers are transmitted. Personal customer information is not loaded into the transmitter and, therefore, will not be transmitted.

How does this project align with City priorities?

The City is dedicated to providing quality water services for Milpitas customers. AMI technology will provide City staff with better tools for serving customers. This upgrade will provide more sophisticated information about water usage patterns, which can be leveraged in future planning. This data will help the City design and analyze conservation programs which align with the City’s goal of Making Water Conservation a Milpitas Way of Life.

How significant is the radio frequency (RF) signal from an advanced meter?

The wireless transmitters used for the City’s advanced metering infrastructure (AMI) use radio frequencies (RF) to transmit data. Exposure to RF from a wireless meter fall far below federal limits and are much lower than many common household devices, including cell phones, laptop computers, and wireless baby monitors. Meters will only transmit a signal four times a day, and each transmission lasts approximately one second. All equipment operates in compliance with state and federal communication standards.

Public Notices & Resources

Schedule icon

Water Meter Install
Address Lookup

Letter to Customers icon

Letter to Customers

Postcard Install Notice icon

Postcard Install Notice

Water Meter Spec Sheet icon

Water Meter
Spec Sheet

Contact Information

 

For more Information about changes to your water meter, contact the City of Milpitas at:

Phone Icon

 

1 (800) 331-4223

E-Mail Icon

 

smartcity@ci.milpitas.ca.gov

For other water service related questions, please visit the City of Milpitas Public Works Department website.